Skulls in the Gardens

Journal Days 57 and 58: Life in my little corner of NYC in the age of the Coronavirus, Saturday and Sunday, May 16–17, 2020

Jorie Mar
2 min readMay 18, 2020
Skulls hanging from a nearly invisible wire strung between two trees © 2020 Jorie Mar

This was a creepy and unexpected sight in a very nice part of the Gardens. What were the skulls doing there? Were they left over from Halloween? From the Day of the Dead? Or were they meant to scare off evil spirits?

It was hard to get too bummed out, though, when the sun was shining and the flowers blooming:

Pretty in pink © 2020 Jorie Mar
Eye-catching yellow © 2020 Jorie Mar
Tulips were still out © 2020 Jorie Mar

Change is in the air. When I went to the Farmer’s Market this morning, there was a line for bread that went around the corner and half-way down the next block:

It’s hard to see because the cars are in the way, but the line, which started at the white tent, ended with the person in the pink shirt © 2020 Jorie Mar

Last week I just walked right up — there was no line at all. I may have gone a little later in the day, but not by much, so I doubt that’s what made the difference.

Even though nothing has opened up here yet, what’s going on in the rest of the country has affected the mood here, I think.

I even went inside a store today, for the first time in many weeks.

What I made on my last post © 2020 Jorie Mar

I tried an experiment. I put my last journal entry/blog post here behind the paywall.

I made a grand total of 11 cents, so I’m not going to do that again. From now on, the journal/blog posts will be free and clear forever.

I may try writing other types of articles specifically for the world behind the paywall curtain. Medium readers seem to like advice. Maybe I can cash in on my guilty pleasure habit of reading self-help books?

--

--

Jorie Mar

Semi-hopeful New Yawka. Baby boomer. Inactive attorney. Content mill veteran. Aspiring humor writer. semihopeful@gmail.com Twitter: @semihopeful